Exclusive representation of Peter Halley in Germany

Galerie Thomas has already been working with Peter Halley for ten years  -
since 2011 we are exclusively representing the American artist in Germany.

OPEN art 2011 - Christian Ude (former lord mayor of the city of Munich), Raimund Thomas, Peter Halley, Silke Thomas, Jörg Paal, Ann Craven (from left to right)

 


 

Exhibitions with works by Peter Halley

 

 

 

2017

PETER HALLEY
EXPLOSION

88,9 x 88,9 cm / 35 x 35 in.
digital print on vinyl on dibond, 2017
verso signed, dated and numbered
edition of 16 + 3 A. P. + 1 E. C.
Editor Galerie Thomas Modern, Munich, 2017
Price: € 3.350,-

As part of its longstanding collaboration with Peter Halley, Galerie Thomas Modern published an edition by the American artist titled Explosion.

Peter Halley, The Schirn Ring, Schirn Kunsthalle 2016, © Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, Photo: Norbert Miguletz

 

Here, the 'Exploding Cell' motif - one of the recurring basic elements of Halley’s visual language – is shown against a glossy silver background. In a very small edition of only 16 prints – all hand-signed, dated and numbered by the artist, the works are remarkable for their special, sophisticated printing technique and the high-quality presentation. Explosion is available exclusively from Galerie Thomas Modern. 

With regard to form and content, the 'Exploding Cell' stands in an apparent contradiction to the geometrically governed compositions of Peter Halley’s paintings. The chaotic-expressive energy erupting from these vibrant images is in complete opposition to the strictly delimited, rectangular colour planes of the cells, prisons and conduits that make up his paintings. 

In fact, 'Explosion' also describes the acute state of sudden resolution of the rigid diagrammatic structure, the prevailing enforced order that Peter Halley focuses on in his paintings. The explosion is thus a different, new state of the rigid 'Cells', and therein lies the artist’s intended ambivalence of the explosion: it is not destruction but liberation. The geometrical grid that determines our lives – from the distribution and communication networks, via the cellular organisation of buildings and cities, through to technology micro-networks of every kind – broken up and set free to allow a different, individual design. 

 

 

2016

PETER HALLEY
SAW: A Suite of Four New Paintings
September 9 - November 5, 2016

 

To mark the opening of the season with OPEN art, Galerie Thomas Modern presented in 2016 the latest works by Peter Halley. Peter Halley calls the four large-format canvases SAW I – IV, 'grid paintings', a technique he has used since 2014 to introduce a new formal component into his work.

In these highly minimalistic but large-scale grids, the clearly delimited colour surfaces remain without information content or symbolic meaning. Initially, the colour contrasts are the only information, whereas the composition is contingent in its effect and the underlying order pattern or arrangement scheme is not deducible. Nevertheless, the question arises as to whether the sequence and the size ratio of the surfaces to one another don’t contain a code after all. Here, Halley emphasises the importance and role of geometry: is it a pattern underlying the world, an unveiling of the most secret systems of order, or a rigid explanation schema, devised by man and opposed to the organic? 

The contrast between the coldness of the mathematics, the geometry and the warmth of the colour, of the sensual perception, leads us to the core of Halley’s artistic criticism of the limitations of systematic measurement and classification of the world. At the same time, he thereby addresses one of the oldest aesthetic theories – that the sense of beauty is determined by proportions. In the history of art, there have been many diverse, exhaustive efforts to fathom the mathematical rules of beauty – one only needs to remember Leonardo’s Vitruvian Man and the importance of the golden ratio.

 

 

 

2016

PETER HALLEY at ART BASEL UNLIMITED
June 16 - 19, 2016

 

At the Art Basel Unlimited 2016, Galerie Thomas Modern presented a new wall installation with paintings by Peter Halley, especially designed for the fair and titled Weak Force. Peter Halley will install new so-called 'grid' paintings from his recently started series on a wall of 4 meters height and 18 meters length approximately, decorated with a digitally printed wallpaper echoing the colour patterns of the paintings by depicting exploding colour cells. The surface design of the paintings is contrasting the recurring pattern of the wallpaper, creating an impressive colour field that challenges the viewer's perception.

Halley's work has been exploring geometrical patterns, colour and surface structures and their organisation, as an investigation in the structure of modern technological layouts
of communication, architecture, supply facilities etc. The domination of digitally defined layouts in frames and layers is visible in all of his works, while in his newest paintings, Halley stresses rectangular colour fields without outlining structures as in his 'cells', 'prisons' and 'conduits'. Associations of large scale image pixels are still present in these recent works, and therefore also Halley's questions on organisation and construction of space, communication and its regulation.

Peter Halleys grid paintings obviously give a contradictory information on the overall structure which is simultaneously visible and indicates kind of a time structure. It remains unclear if this information concentrates on a certain detail in time or constellation of colour fields or if it is rather a random choice, imposing a point of view that leaves no tolerance to the viewer. Even though the strict rules of composition are clearly visible, Halley reveals how the hierarchy of information influences the rules of perception. 

 

 

2014

PETER HALLEY
May 23 - July 19, 2014

 

Following on from the exhibition of his ‘Prisons’ and ‘Cells’ in autumn 2011 at Galerie Thomas Modern, which attracted wide attention, we were showing Peter Halley’s latest works directly from his New York studio in summer 2014.

Peter Halley continues to develop his principal motif of 'Prisons'. He opens up the customarily closed picture structure, and largely dispenses with compact symmetrical arrangements. In his latest works, Halley allows the ‘Prisons’ to correspond with one another in a new, playful way within each picture. Not all ‘Cells’ are connected to one another; the artist allows some to float completely free in space.

For his startling canvases the artist uses acrylic paint and fluorescent industrial paint mixed with relief particles, creating a grainy, rough surface structure. For many years, his paintings have been engaging in a play of relationships between what Halley calls 'prisons' and 'cells' – icons that reflect the increasing “geometricization of social space in the world in which we live” (Halley). Besides painting, Halley is also an author engaging in social-philosophical discourse.

Looking behind the scenes of the shooting for the exhibition clip

 
In parallel with the exhibition at Galerie Thomas Modern, Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena presented the exhibition PETER HALLEY ‘PRISONS’ at the Old Tram Depot in Jena from May 10 to July 27, 2014.

Jörg Paal, Prof. Dr. Martin S. Fischer, Frank Stella, Dr. Barbara Happe, Peter Halley und Ann Craven (from left to right)

 

 

2011

PETER HALLEY
September 9 - November 19, 2011

 

With this extensive solo show in 2011, Galerie Thomas Modern started the exclusive representation of the US-American artist Peter Halley in Germany. Beside his recent paintings, we could also present a wall-sized digital print-installation which Halley created especially for this occasion.

 

 

 

2008/2009

JOSEF ALBERS · DONALD JUDD · PETER HALLEY
November 6, 2008 - January 19, 2009

 

Three artists of different origin and from different generations, connected by something obvious: they deal with colour and geometric shapes.

The youngest of the three representatives of abstract art, Peter Halley, refers to Albers as well as Judd in his art. His works unite vivid colour planes with spatial structures, principally manifested in his experiments with various materials and the creative structuring of surfaces of his mixed media on canvas. In Halley's works the tradition of his precursors, Albers and Judd, are transported into the 21st century. 

 


 

A short notice at the request of the EU: This website uses cookies in order to offer its users certain services.
None of the thereby collected data will be used to identify or contact you.

Exklusive Vertretung von Peter Halley in Deutschland

Bereits seit zehn Jahren arbeitet die Galerie Thomas Modern mit Peter Halley zusammen -
seit 2011 vertreten wir den amerikanischen Künstler exklusiv in Deutschland.

OPEN art 2011 - Christian Ude (Oberbürgermeister der Stadt München a.D.), Raimund Thomas, Peter Halley, Silke Thomas, Jörg Paal, Ann Craven (v.l.n.r.)

 


 

Ausstellungsprojekte mit Peter Halley

 

 

 

2017

PETER HALLEY
EXPLOSION

88,9 x 88,9 cm / 35 x 35 in.
Digitaldruck auf Vinyl auf Alu-Dibond, 2017
rückseitig signiert, datiert und nummeriert
Auflage 16 Exemplare + 3 A. P. + 1 E. C.
Herausgeber Galerie Thomas Modern, München, 2017
Preis: € 3.350,-

Im Rahmen der langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit Peter Halley präsentiert die Galerie Thomas Modern eine Edition mit dem Titel Explosion.

Peter Halley, The Schirn Ring, Schirn Kunsthalle 2016, © Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, 2016, Foto: Norbert Miguletz

 

Das Motiv der 'Exploding Cell', das zu den immer wiederkehrenden Grundelementen der Bildsprache des Künstlers gehört, erscheint hier vor einem silberglänzenden Hintergrund. In einer sehr kleinen Auflage von nur 16 Exemplaren, alle vom Künstler handsigniert, datiert und nummeriert, ragen die Werke durch eine besondere und raffinierte Drucktechnik und die hochwertige Präsentation heraus. Explosion wird exklusiv nur durch die Galerie Thomas Modern angeboten.

Die 'Exploding Cell' steht bei Peter Halley in einem scheinbaren formalen und inhaltlichen Widerspruch zu den typischen geometrisch bestimmten Kompositionen seiner Gemälde. Das chaotische expressive Ausbrechen der Energie, das aus diesen farbkräftigen Darstellungen spricht, ist der genaue Gegensatz zu den streng abgegrenzten, rechtwinkligen Farbflächen der 'Cells', 'Prisons' und 'Conduits', aus welchen die malerischen Kompositionen bestehen.

Tatsächlich beschreibt auch die 'Explosion' den akuten Zustand der plötzlichen Auflösung des starren Diagrammgefüges, also der herrschenden, aufgezwungenen Ordnung, die Peter Halley in seinen Gemälden thematisiert. Die Explosion ist also ein anderer, ein neuer Zustand der starren 'Cells', und darin liegt die vom Künstler gewollte Ambivalenz der Explosion: sie ist nicht Zerstörung, sondern Befreiung. Denn plötzlich wird das geometrische Raster, das unser Leben bestimmt - von den Versorgungs- und Kommunikationsnetzen über die wabenartige Organisation von Gebäuden und Städten bis hin zu technologischen Mikronetzwerken jeder Art -, aufgebrochen und für eine andere, individuelle Gestaltung freigegeben.

 

 

2016

PETER HALLEY
SAW: A Suite of Four New Paintings
9.9. - 5.11.2016

 

Die Galerie Thomas Modern hat zur Saisoneröffnung 2016 mit der OPEN art neueste Werke von Peter Halley gezeigt. Die vier großformatigen Gemälde SAW I - IV nennt Peter Halley 'grid paintings', also 'Rasterbilder', mit welchen er seit 2014 eine neue formale Komponente in sein Schaffen einführt.

In diesen denkbar minimalen, aber großformatigen Rastern bleiben die klar abgegrenzten Farbflächen ohne Informationsgehalt oder symbolische Bedeutung. Die Farbkontraste sind zunächst die einzige Information, während die Komposition kontingent wirkt und das zugrundeliegende Ordnungsmuster oder Anordnungsschema nicht deduzierbar ist. Dennoch stellt sich die Frage, ob die Abfolge und das Größenverhältnis der Flächen zueinander nicht doch einen Code beinhalten. Halley thematisiert hier die Bedeutung und Rolle der Geometrie: ist sie ein der Welt zugrundeliegendes Muster, eine Enthüllung der geheimsten Ordnungssysteme, oder aber ein vom Menschen erdachtes, dem organischen oppositionelles, starres Erklärungsschema?

Der Kontrast zwischen der Kälte der Mathematik, der Geometrie und der Wärme der Farbe, der sinnlichen Wahrnehmung führt ins Zentrum von Halleys künstlerischer Kritik an den Beschränkungen der systematischen Vermessung und Einteilung der Welt. Er verhandelt damit zugleich eine der ältesten ästhetischen Theorien, nach der das Schönheitsempfinden von Proportionen gesteuert wird. In der Geschichte der Kunst gab es intensive und vielfältige Versuche, den mathematischen Regeln der Schönheit auf den Grund zu kommen - man muß nur an Leonardos vitruvianischen Menschen und die Bedeutung des goldenen Schnitts erinnern.

 

 

2016

PETER HALLEY auf der ART BASEL UNLIMITED
16. - 19. Juni 2016

 

Auf der Art Basel Unlimited 2016 hat die Galerie Thomas Modern eine eigens zu diesem Anlaß geschaffene große Wandinstallation mit neuen Gemälden präsentiert. Unter dem Titel Weak Force hat Peter Halley seine großformatigen 'Grid-Paintings' auf einem die 18 Meter lange Wand überziehenden ornamentalen Muster arrangiert und durch den Kontrast nicht nur eine enorme ästhetische Wirkung erzeugt, sondern zugleich seine künstlerische Befragung unserer modernen Wahrnehmungs- und Ordnungssysteme formuliert.

In seinen neuesten Werken legt Halley den Schwerpunkt auf rechteckige Farbfelder ohne Umrißlinien, wie sie in seinen sogenannten 'cells', 'prisons' und 'conduits' früherer Werke vorkommen. In diesen Bildern stellen sich Assoziationen von großformatigen Bilderpixeln ein und verweisen auf Halleys Befragung der Organisation und Konstruktion von Raum, Kommunikation und ihrer Regulierung.

Peter Halleys Grid Paintings scheinen einen widersprüchlichen Kommentar auf die die Wand überziehenden Muster explodierender Farbzellen zu geben, die gleichzeitig sichtbar sind und verweisen damit auch auf eine zeitliche Struktur. Es bleibt unklar, ob die Gemälde sich auf ein Detail im Zeitablauf oder der Farbkombination beziehen oder ob es sich um eine zufällige Auswahl handelt, die dem Betrachter eine bestimmte Sichtweise aufzwingt. Auch wenn die strengen Regeln der Komposition klar ersichtlich sind, zeigt Peter Halley zugleich, wie die Hierarchie der Information die Regeln der Wahrnehmung beeinflußt.

Indem er die konventionellen Erwartungen an Darstellung und Hintergrund (oder an Bild und Wand) auf den Kopf stellt, verbindet Peter Halley ironisch die sonst getrennten historischen Strömungen von geometrischer Abstraktion, abstraktem Expressionismus und Pop Art. Damit weist er deutlich auf die Fragilität hin, die in der scheinbaren Solidität dessen liegt, was wir konstruieren.

 

 

2014

PETER HALLEY
23.5. - 19.7.2014

 

Anknüpfend an die viel beachtete Ausstellung seiner 'Prisons' und 'Cells' in der Galerie Thomas Modern im Herbst 2011 haben wir im Sommer 2014 die neuesten Arbeiten Peter Halleys direkt aus seinem Studio in New York präsentiert.

Peter Halley entwickelt hier sein Hauptmotiv der 'Prisons' weiter. Er öffnet die gewohnt geschlossene Bildstruktur und verzichtet weitgehend auf die kompakte, symmetrische Anordnung. In diesen Arbeiten lässt Halley die 'Prisons' innerhalb eines Bildes auf neue, spielerische Weise miteinander korrespondieren. Nicht alle 'Cells' sind miteinander verbunden, einige lässt der Künstler nun völlig frei im Raum schweben.

Für seine aufsehenerregenden Leinwände benutzt der Künstler sowohl Acrylfarben, als auch fluoreszierende Industriefarben mit Reliefpartikel vermischt, die auf den Bildern eine körnige, rauhe Oberflächenstruktur bilden. Seit vielen Jahren befasst er sich in seinen Gemälden mit "der Geometrisierung des sozialen Raums in der Welt, in welcher wir leben" (Halley), indem er die Formensprache von geometrischen Zeichen, wie Gefängnisgitter (Prison) und Zellen (Cell) zueinander in Beziehung setzt. Neben der Malerei setzt sich Halley als Autor mit soziologisch-philosophischer Theorie auseinander. Geboren 1953 in New York City, zählt Halley heute zu den bemerkenswertesten US-Konzept-Künstlern seiner Generation.

Blick hinter die Kulissen bei den Dreharbeiten zum Ausstellungsfilm

 
Parallel zur Ausstellung in der Galerie Thomas Modern hat die Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena vom 10. Mai bis 27. Juli 2014 die Ausstellung PETER HALLEY 'PRISONS' im Alten Straßenbahndepot in Jena gezeigt. Zu Besuch war u.a. Frank Stella.

Jörg Paal, Prof. Dr. Martin S. Fischer, Frank Stella, Dr. Barbara Happe, Peter Halley und Ann Craven (v.l.n.r.)

 

 

2011

PETER HALLEY
9.9. - 19.11.2011

 

Mit der Einzelausstellung von Peter Halleys Arbeiten begann 2011 die Exklusivvertretung des US-amerikanischen Künstlers durch die Galerie Thomas Modern in Deutschland. Neben den aktuellsten Gemälden von Peter Halley konnten wir auch eine wandgroße Installation mit digitalen Drucken zeigen, die speziell von ihm für die Galerie Thomas Modern geschaffen wurde.

 

 

 

2008/2009

JOSEF ALBERS · DONALD JUDD · PETER HALLEY
6.11.2008 - 19.01.2009

 

Drei Künstler unterschiedlicher Generationen und Herkunft, die eines offensichtlich verbindet: Ihre Auseinandersetzung mit Farben und geometrischen Formen.

Der jüngste der drei Vertreter der abstrakten Kunst, Peter Halley, bezieht sich in seinen Arbeiten sowohl auf Albers als auch auf Judd. Seine Werke verbinden intensive Farbflächen mit räumlichen Strukturen, was sich vor allem in seinem Experimentieren mit verschiedenen Materialien und der kreativen Oberflächengestaltung seiner Mischtechniken auf Leinwand niederschlägt. Halleys Arbeiten tragen die Tradition seiner beiden Vorreiter, Albers und Judd, ins 21. Jahrhundert.

 


 

Auf Wunsch der EU ein kurzer Hinweis: Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um den Nutzern bestimmte Dienste bereitzustellen.
Es werden keine der so gesammelten Daten genutzt, um Sie zu identifizieren oder zu kontaktieren.